This one stayed home.

All weekend!  Okay, it’s only Saturday at 1 pm, but it looks like the weekend is all but spoken for.  I started my journey to marketing stardom (I’m an optimist) with the number one desired certification I saw listed on my local marketing firms’ job postings:

HubSpot’s Inbound Certification

So, I’m on section five of the twelve section (free!) video course, and if I had to sum up my experience thus far in a word, it would be delightful.

I don’t know if these wonderful people actually work for HubSpot or if they are hired actors, but they are exactly what they preach – Pillars of Delight! *cough, see section twelve, cough*

So far I have had three lovely people conversing with me about what inbound is, how (and why) to blog effectively, and how to get search engines on my side.

I’m on pause right now to write this entry, but I’m about halfway through learning about social media.

Social media!

HubSpot, thank you.  When I get inspired I get inspired hard, and I literally decided yesterday that I was born to be a marketing star (I swear I’m not really this cocky).  I decided then that I would do whatever it took to prepare myself for the job.  But I thought that meant drawing my curtains, banishing my boyfriend, and relinquishing the two tiny days each week that are all mine – to buckle down and study.

I’m not studying, I’m relaxing!  You know how you always want to take a couple of days to just relax?  But even if you can manage to convince yourself that “there will be other” perfect 70 and sunny weekends coming, there’s laundry and there’s dishes and if you’re not going anywhere you should probably organize your closet or do something at least somewhat productive, right?  Right??

Well here it is.

If you are thinking about marketing as a career, or just thinking about dipping your feet in the water to see if it’s even remotely your kind of pool, I would highly recommend starting here with the HubSpot Inbound Certification Course.

So relax.  Grab a coffee, throw on some sweats, and cozy up into your couch for a few hours.  You deserve it.  Oh, and press play.

Carly

Leave a Reply

